TL;DR
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Amazon announced Ring’s first smart lock, priced at $249 and expected in the US in early 2027 pending FCC approval. Its thumb-turn dial can generate enough power to unlock the door when the rechargeable battery is depleted, though Amazon has not said how many turns are required.
Amazon has announced the $249 Ring Smart Lock, a door lock designed to generate emergency power by turning its thumb-turn dial if its rechargeable battery dies. The company says a few turns can produce enough power to unlock the door, offering an alternative to a physical backup key or an external battery connection.
Amazon says the dial’s built-in charging mechanism can provide enough power to unlock the door and let someone enter, then fully recharge the lock’s battery. The company has not specified exactly how many turns are needed or how much power each turn produces. The lock uses Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring during installation.
Unlocking options include a fingerprint reader, a backlit touchscreen keypad, the Ring app and voice commands through compatible Alexa devices. Owners can register multiple users and schedule access, including temporary codes that expire after a set period. Amazon says the lock connects to other devices over its Sidewalk network, rather than relying on a home Wi-Fi connection, where Sidewalk coverage is available.
The lock is expected to go on sale in the US in early 2027, subject to FCC approval, and will come in black, silver and brass finishes. It does not have a camera. People who want video at the entry will need to pair it with a separate Ring camera or doorbell, according to the product information in The Verge’s report.
A Backup Power Method Built Into the Lock
A dead smart-lock battery can prevent access or leave owners dependent on an emergency workaround. Amazon’s approach puts the power-generating mechanism into a control people already use: the thumb-turn dial. If the system works as described, a user at the door could generate enough power to unlock it without carrying a physical key or finding a separate battery.
The feature does not remove every potential access problem. The lock still depends on its battery for normal operation, and Amazon has not provided details about how reliably the dial can generate power, how long emergency power lasts, or whether it supports functions beyond unlocking. Remote access and alerts also depend on Sidewalk coverage and compatible connectivity; the announcement does not establish that those features will work everywhere.
Ring smart lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Ring’s First Lock Joins Its Connected Devices
The Ring Smart Lock expands Amazon’s Ring home-security lineup from cameras and doorbells into door access. Unlike locks that use an exposed USB port or contacts for an external 9-volt battery when their main battery is depleted, this model places its emergency charging mechanism in the dial, according to The Verge’s report.
Amazon announced the lock alongside additional Ring cameras, but those products are separate announcements and do not change the lock’s capabilities. The Smart Lock itself has no camera; seeing who is at the door requires a separate video device. Its expected US release is also not immediate: the company’s stated window is early 2027, and the product remains subject to regulatory approval.
Turn Count and Approval Still Pending
Amazon has not disclosed the number of turns required to produce emergency power, how much charge the dial generates, or whether repeated use could affect the mechanism. The announcement describes enough power to unlock the door and says the battery can then be fully recharged, but it does not detail the steps or time required.
The lock’s early 2027 US availability is an expectation, not a confirmed shipping date, and remains subject to FCC approval. The announcement also does not specify a launch date for individual finishes, the full range of Sidewalk coverage, or how remote functions behave in areas without that network.
US Launch Awaits FCC Approval
Amazon expects to release the Ring Smart Lock in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval. The company has announced a $249 price and three finishes, but no exact on-sale date or additional technical details about the emergency charging process were provided in the source report.
Further product information will be needed to clarify the dial’s power output, the required turning procedure and the lock’s operation when network service is unavailable. Until those details and the approval status are known, the emergency charging feature should be understood as Amazon’s stated capability, not a fully documented performance specification.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock work when its battery dies?
Amazon says turning the thumb-turn dial generates enough emergency power to unlock the door. It has not specified the exact number of turns.When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
Amazon expects US availability in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No exact release date was provided.How much will the Ring Smart Lock cost?
The announced price is $249. The lock is planned in black, silver and brass finishes.Does the Ring Smart Lock include a camera?
No. The lock has no built-in camera; video monitoring requires a separate Ring camera or doorbell.Can it work without home Wi-Fi?
Amazon says the lock connects to other devices through its Sidewalk network instead of relying on home Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage, which may not be available everywhere.Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
